Strings of words that keep my mind occupied

tumblr_n79u1hW9da1qz62xqo3_1280

  1. Lately, I’d been feeling like I was standing outside watching everything and everybody. Wishing I could take the part of me that was over there and the part of me that was over here and push them together—make myself into one whole person like everybody else. (Jacqueline Woodson, After Tupac and D Foster)
  2. The bravest thing I ever did was continuing my life when I wanted to die. (Juliette Lewis)
  3. Never apologize for how you feel. No one can control how they feel. The sun doesn’t apologize for being the sun. The rain doesn’t say sorry for falling. Feelings just are (Iain S. Thomas, Intentional Dissonance)
  4. And sometimes I have kept my feelings to myself, because I could find no language to describe them in. (Jane Austen, from Sense and Sensibility)
  5. If you can’t take criticism for your actions, maybe you shouldn’t be doing them. (via actionables)
  6. Everyone sees what you appear to be, few experience what you really are. (Niccolò Machiavelli)
  7. When I want something with my whole being, and the universe withholds it from me, I hope the universe thinks to herself: “Silly girl. She thinks this is what she wants, but she does not understand how it will hurt. (Blythe Baird, Theories About the Universe)
  8. Is there anything here I can call my own? A feeling? A moment? Anything? Will there ever be a time when I am truly loved? When I’ll know it and not wonder if it’s real? Is there something I can protect and love and care about? Is there a truth I can keep that has no fear attached? Will there ever be a time when I can be somewhere and it will feel like home? Will there ever be a time when I will look around me and know I am finally in the place I am supposed to be? Is there anything here, anything I can see, while I breathe and breathe, trying to stay alive long enough to just be able to be here and know that I am here? Not just any here but the here I am supposed to be in. Is there anything that I can call mine that will not eventually be take from me? Is there anything, anyone, ever? (Henry Rollins, Roomanitarian)
  9. Do not try to be pretty. You weren’t meant to be pretty; you were meant to burn down the earth and graffiti the sky. Don’t let anyone ever simplify you to just “pretty.” (via itsrockandrollbabyy)
  10. “Respect yourself enough to walk away from anything that no longer serves you, grows you, or makes you happy.”
  11. “Deep inside, she knew who she was, and that person was smart and kind and often even funny, but somehow her personality always got lost somewhere between her heart and her mouth, and she found herself saying the wrong thing, or more often, nothing at all.”
  12. “And me, I always felt that I didn’t belong anywhere. I didn’t even belong in my own body–especially in my own body. I was changing into someone I didn’t know. The change hurt but I didn’t know why it hurt. And nothing about my own emotions made any sense.”
  13. You are made of the sea and the stars, and one day you are going to find yourself again. (F. Butler)
Leave a Reply

