Summer 2014: Part I

I promised myself I’d make a decent blog post after our 3-day vacation, so here it is as promised! But I’m going to apologize in advance for the state of this post because I am so tired and coming up with witty sentences isn’t as easy as I’d hoped.

  • Fun fact: this is the first time in a loooooong time (years, tbh) that we’ve gone to the beach as a family
  • By “family” I mean me, my parents, my sister, and my relatives (my two aunts, 5 male cousins)
  • And yes, we are brady-er than the Brady brunch hahaha
  • I digress
  • We spent 3 days and 2 nights in a beach house (but if I were to be honest, it was more of a shack than a fancy beach house but I’ve done my complaining on Twitter soooo)
  • IT WAS ONE HELL OF A SUMMER VACATION
  • It was only yesterday when I realized how old we (my cousins and I) have become
  • I mean, we’re all on the 2-digit age scale baby!
  • I also realized just how much I missed hanging out with those monkeys
  • And yes I call them monkeys because they’re all so wild
  • Boys will be boys
  • But I love them nonetheless
  • We had a bonfire on our second day and we had S’mores (well makeshift ones because really we were just there for the bonfire and the marshmallows)
  • We went swimming and GODDAMNIT THE SEA IS DEAD
  • I’m so sorry I just had to say that. I’m going to go all environmental here, but dear Lord, I swear the sea is so polluted and so dead. It was shocking and heartbreaking at the same time. I can’t believe how selfish we can be, to take and take and lay waste everywhere. It’s disgusting, we’re disgusting. At some point, a part of me kept wishing that people never lay their eyes on any more natural resources other than those that we’ve and we’re using up because at the rate we’re going, we are going to create so much irreparable damage to the Earth. And seriously, I don’t understand how people can’t grasp the fact that this is the only Earth we have and there is nowhere else in space exactly like it. Dear God.
  • but though I was partially heartbroken at the state of the sea, I couldn’t stay downcast all day because my cousins make extremely great company
  • somehow I was content with just listening to them talk about anything because that’s how much I don’t know about them
  • We visited a lighthouse and went down this (secret) path to another sea shore (where apparently this local TV melodrama shot most of its scenes)
  • The lighthouse is considered one of our national landmarks and I couldn’t agree more. It’s absolutely beautiful! I can’t even!!!
  • And the sea! Oh dear Lord! The water was so clear and I could actually see fish swimming near the shore. It was exquisite, truly.
  • To be honest, the vacation was a much needed one and I’m glad we had it just before school starts.
  • BUT I am seriously going to push for a part II because we definitely need one more!!!

To end this post (indefinitely) I promise to upload some photos of our vacation within the week! ;)

Leave a Reply

