History in a cup.

Today is proving to be very conducive to blogging, won’t you agree? I’ve practically set up camp on our living room couch and here I sit with my laptop and my daily cup o’ joe. Nothing beats coffee on a chilly weather, if I may say.

A beverage as black as ink, useful against numerous illnesses, particularly those of the stomach. Its consumers take it in the morning, quite frankly, in a porcelain cup that is passed around and from which each one drinks a cupful. It is composed of water and the fruit from a bush called bunnu.
(Léonard Rauwolf, x)

I love coffee.

Every sip is like entering into an entirely new world. You’re transported to different memories, different places, and you remember days long past. Personally, every time I hold my mug on my right hand and use my left to tilt the contents onto my waiting mouth, I’m brought to places I’ve only seen in my dreams–the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the historic streets of Rome, the pyramids of Egypt, and the sand dunes of Saudi Arabia.

According to research, the earliest (credible) evidence of the coffee-drinking tradition was during the middle of the 15th century in the Sufi shrines of Yemen. It was in the Sufi monasteries that coffee seeds were first roasted and brewed in a similar way that it is being prepared today. But coffee itself originated in the country of Ethiopa, and from there it was introduced to the Arab world through Egypt and Yemen. It’s spread to other countries began when coffee seeds were smuggled out of Yemen to India in the year 1670 by a Sufi named Baba Budan. From there, the first coffee seeds planted outside of Arabia (in Mysore, specifically) came to be. And the rest was history, as they say, because then coffee spread to Italy and eventually to the rest of Europe, to Indonesia, and then to the Americas. (x)

With it’s colorful past, coffee is definitely history in a cup! That’s why I present to you some of the best pictures of coffee I’ve found all over the web, enjoy! :-)

PS: Curious about how to make that perfect cup of coffee? Try my personal recipe!

The key is just ratio and proportion, good friends! For every teaspoon of coffee, there must be an equivalent of one and a half teaspoon of creamer and sugar. I usually use muscovado sugar (or brown sugar) because white sugar is just too processed for my liking, but the choice is yours. So, if you like your coffee strong (like me) and you use two teaspoons of coffee, just make sure that you use two and a half teaspoons of creamer and sugar. Just remember this ratio and proportion and you’re good to go!

tumblr_mff4t6mA9Q1qf3fa6o1_500large (2) large (1)large (3) large (4)large (6) large (7) large (8)large (5)largelarge (9) large (10) large (11) large (12) large (13) large 2 large 3 tumblr_mrr2ghypBq1qimhjco1_500 tumblr_mrr2ttNPEy1rtut60o1_500 tumblr_mrr21eO90R1saslu1o1_500 tumblr_mrr31tgkC41r9m6qho1_500large

Happy coffee drinking, everybody! :-)

Reggie xx

Leave a Reply

