health freak

Detox (n.): treatment designed to rid the body of poisonous substances, esp alcohol and drugs

It’s never easy to go into detox. Although I’m not exactly ridding my body of alcohol and drugs, I’m pretty sure junk foods, chocolate bars, processed foods, and the like fall under the category ‘poisonous substances’. The perfect metaphor for what I was for the past month is a man on death row about to get sentenced and given his last meal. Only I had my version of a ‘last meal’ for a month! Would you believe that?

A month.

I’ve been going at it for one month. Candy bars, chocolates, caramel bars, cookies, cupcakes, muffins, cakes, junk food, peanut butter, butter, sugar, white bread… crap, you name it I’ve probably eaten it! I was such in a sorry state, and it’s quite embarrassing after everything I’ve done during the past summer to get myself back into shape.

I’ve probably regained all the pounds I’ve lost.

But here’s the thing, losing weight is 80-percent diet and 20-percent exercise. And by God, I think I can make do without the 20-percent. I can always compensate by being stricter with my diet. Thank God for that ratio. Haha!

So if you’re in the same boat as I am, this post is for you! Here, I’ve compiled a few of the best recipes I’ve found online that will help in cutting back on your calories and aid in losing weight. Bring it on!

A little note to self on the side, here is a list of the foods I’m dropping entirely from my diet:

  • red meat (including pork, beef, lamb, etc)
  • peanut butter
  • chocolate (of all forms: bars, syrup, etc)
  • candies / candy bars
  • white sugar
  • white bread
  • sugary confections (i.e. cookies, muffins, cupcakes, etc)

Am going organic and pseudo-pescetarian for the next couple of months… or maybe forever! My diet includes:

  • white meat (am trying my best to remove chicken completely from my diet)
  • fish, seafood
  • organic sweeteners (i.e. muscovado sugar & honey)
  • wheat bread
  • unsalted butter
  • cheeses
  • skim milk
  • coffee
  • vegetables and fruits (all types)
  • +++

Reggie xx

ImageImage
egg-and-potato-scramble-4-550x368
breakfast ideas
Top: (1) Breakfast Toast ideas, (2) Egg and Potato Breakfast Scramble
Down: (3) Banana Oat Pancakes

gluten-free-banana-pancakes-1(source here: 1 | 2 | 3)

Image
ImageImage

lunch/dinner ideas
Top: (1) Garlic + Asparagus Steamed Fish, (2) Red Pepper Shrimp Scampi, (3) Pecan Tilapia and Baked Brussels
Below: (4) Spaghetti All’Arrabiata, (5) Easy Shrimp Pad Thai, (6) Easy Pad See
Ew

ImageImageImage
(source here: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6)

PostScript: I don’t own any cooking measurement devices so I always always have such a difficult time measuring my portions. This especially makes it extremely difficult for me to keep accurate food diary entries. So, if you’re having the same problem, I found this super helpful post. It’s such an amazing reference and I do believe it’s quite accurate as well. Basically, it’s a quick how-to on which parts of our hand is equal to what. Very helpful, isn’t it? ;)original

(Source here: Use Your Hand to Estimate Your Portions)

2 Comments

  1. Good luck and good for you! I have a feeling you will feel so much better. It is hard at first, but I gave up refined sugars and processed foods over a year ago and now I don’t crave any of that stuff. In fact, I had a bite of dessert the other week and I genuinely didn’t like it. Imagine that. Anyway I have tons of recipes on my blog if you need some more inspiration!

    • Hello Ani! Thanks so much for your support! I think I’m actually going into withdrawal from all the sugar I’ve eaten for the past month. :( But I don’t mind though because I guess that means my body’s really detoxifying. I love all your recipes by the way! I’m planning to make some of them this weekend! Thanks so much again! ;)

Leave a Reply

